Page 1 of 2

Java

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:26 pm
by karainier
Can I add this to my addons:
ARMv5 Linux - Headless EABI, SoftFP ABI, Little Endian3 32 MB Downloadejre-7u55-fcs-b13-linux-arm-sflt-headless-17_mar_2014.tar.gz

and how would i set the path for /bin/java in your firmware?

I would like the jre, which is required, to run this app
http://www.filebot.net/

Re: Java

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:35 pm
by Jocko
Need to deepen but it seems that filebot doesn't have a remoteGUI and so can not be used on a NAS.

Re: Java

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:01 am
by fvdw
I tried the link as posted some time ago, that arm version won't work on our NAS and there is no source code for recompile

Re: Java

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 3:23 pm
by karainier
Filebot does have a command line interface and scripting automation that work very well. That's too bad about the Java though, thanks anyway.

Re: Java

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 3:24 pm
by karainier
Would ARM v6 or v7 work?

Re: Java

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:15 pm
by fvdw
karainier wrote:Would ARM v6 or v7 work?

no they also don't work (on these nas devices it is an arm5)

Re: Java

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 5:48 pm
by karainier
Just fyi, I was able to get JRE 7u55 running on firmware 15.2, if anyone else is looking for the same. I have not tried any of the jdk or java 8 packages.

Re: Java

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 6:44 pm
by fvdw
:thumbup thats interesting can you post how you did it ?

Re: Java

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 8:46 pm
by karainier
Sure:
I downloaded the armv5 headless jre 7 update 55 into fvdw/addons
unzipped with
Code: Select all
tar zxvf java7.tar.gz

At this point, if I type the full path to the java command and test with -version, it works. I'm not sure if there is a difference in the firmware or the java, but it just works.
Code: Select all
/share/1000/fvdw/addons/ejre1.7.0_55/bin/java -version

Then I set JAVA_HOME and PATH
Code: Select all
JAVA_HOME=/share/1000/fvdw/addons/ejre1.7.0_55
export JAVA_HOME
PATH=$JAVA_HOME/bin:$PATH
export PATH

So now i can just do
Code: Select all
java -version
as a test and it works

Then set HOME and PATH with the same lines above in /etc/profile so that they are set permanently.
Still works after a restart and is working with programs dependent on java runtime environment.

I'm not sure if that helps anyone or it was just a matter of checking after updates, but that's it!
I can post any other output or information you don't get the same results. Happy developing :rock

Re: Java

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 9:08 pm
by Jocko
Hi karainier,

export in profile file is not enough: HOME and updated PATH are only available with a shell console in this case.

JAVA_HOME and updated PATH must be added in the main shell script (rcS) so that they are available in all case.