no ssh from browser

Post any question, feedback you have regarding the Lacie Network Space vs 1 in this forum

no ssh from browser

Postby Gromke » Mon Jul 14, 2014 2:34 pm

Hi! When I had my old Lacie-firmware I was able to get ssh acces with my browser, using Thunar on linux-Mint (ssh://root@myserver).
Now after upgrading to fvdwsl-15-3 It gives the error that it can't open filesystem.
Although I can use ssh over the terminal, that is working fine. So I did re-generate the rsa-key.
But it would be much more practical if I can use te browser again.
Someone any idea why ssh gets blocked for the file-browser?
Gromke
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 11:27 pm

Re: no ssh from browser

Postby Gromke » Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:15 pm

Oké I solved it. Turnes out in /home/user/.ssh/ folder is also an 'known_hosts' file that needed to be adjust.
Gromke
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 11:27 pm

Re: no ssh from browser

Postby fvdw » Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:34 pm

Gromke wrote:Oké I solved it. Turnes out in /home/user/.ssh/ folder is also an 'known_hosts' file that needed to be adjust.


:scratch there is no such directory in our firmware
User avatar
fvdw
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 8472
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:30 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: no ssh from browser

Postby Gromke » Tue Jul 15, 2014 11:08 pm

That's right, I had to edit this file in my own filesystem. It had still the old rsa-key in it and that was conflicting.
there is also an known_hosts file in /root/.ssh/ (local linux system) and these files apparently need to contain the rsa-key shown in the ssh setting from the web-interface.
I just missed the one in the /home/user/.ssh/ folder.
Gromke
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 11:27 pm

Re: no ssh from browser

Postby fvdw » Tue Jul 15, 2014 11:38 pm

we store the the .ssh folder on a different place follow the link in system root.
That one is used by dropbear the ssh server we use.
Did you install another ssh server ?
User avatar
fvdw
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 8472
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:30 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: no ssh from browser

Postby Gromke » Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:12 pm

fvdw wrote:Did you install another ssh server ?


No, just the included ssh server.
To be more specific, I had to change these files on my computer, running Linux Mint, not in the nas.
So this topic can be marked as solved
Gromke
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 11:27 pm

Re: no ssh from browser

Postby Jocko » Thu Jul 17, 2014 11:54 am

Gromke wrote:Hi! When I had my old Lacie-firmware I was able to get ssh acces with my browser, using Thunar on linux-Mint (ssh://root@myserver).
Now after upgrading to fvdwsl-15-3 It gives the error that it can't open filesystem.

Hi Gromke,

When you install the fvdw-sl firmware, a new private key is generated. And of course, you must update all known_hosts file on each client

Note: the firmware uses dropbear as ssh server: it has the same main features than openSSH. The ssh client command is not ssh but dbclient.
User avatar
Jocko
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 7170
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Orleans, France

Re: no ssh from browser

Postby Gromke » Thu Jul 17, 2014 6:56 pm

The ssh client command is not ssh but dbclient


Thanks! this is new to me. I was using ssh from my linux, talking to the nas, that is working fine to.
The known-hosts stuff I figured out and is all done.
So talking back I could use the dbclient command in combination with rsync? (that indeed didn't work with ssh...)
Well, I just try.... Thanks
Gromke
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 11:27 pm

Re: no ssh from browser

Postby Jocko » Fri Jul 18, 2014 11:06 am

So talking back I could use the dbclient command in combination with rsync? (that indeed didn't work with ssh...)
Well, I just try.... Thanks

Yes, Gromke.

Currently, to make backup, the firmware uses rsync with or not over a ssh channel.

In the help pages, you can find information and also on the board some howtodo written by uelpenich.
User avatar
Jocko
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 7170
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Orleans, France


Return to Lacie Network Space vs1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest