Lacie Network Space speed

Post any question, feedback you have regarding the Lacie Network Space vs 1 in this forum

Lacie Network Space speed

Postby vigon » Fri Dec 27, 2013 10:02 pm

Hi there! And first, THANKS for this very appreciated work ;).

I'm just wondering if the speed I get when connecting to my lacie network space (V1) is normal (< 1M/s... quite boring)

I tried to connect via NFS but I'm not yet sure about how to configure it...

My devices (computer, router, nas...) are all 100M and I have no other service running.
vigon
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 12:32 pm

Re: Lacie Network Space speed

Postby fvdw » Fri Dec 27, 2013 11:48 pm

it depends, if you transport a lot of small files (like pictures, a few MB each) then it will be slow, if you copy a big one like a video file of lets say 100 MB it should be possible to reach 7 MByte/s
User avatar
fvdw
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 8472
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:30 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Lacie Network Space speed

Postby vigon » Sat Dec 28, 2013 1:24 pm

No, I indeed transfer big files (~1GB/file). I use a caviar green 2TB (5400rpm). But this disk show far better performances in a destop computer (~100MB/s). Not sure why it is so slow when using it with samba and your driver. I will give some feedback if I identify the Achilles' tendon.
vigon
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 12:32 pm

Re: Lacie Network Space speed

Postby mennucc » Tue Jul 08, 2014 11:29 am

hi, I have a gigabit ethernet cabling; some time ago I tried a simple benchmark with 'netcat'

on the other host
# nc -l 9999 > /dev/null
on the "lacie network speed"
# dd if=/dev/zero bs=1k count=50000 | nc otherhost 9999

it should output something as
51200000 bytes (51 MB) copied, 11.2957 s, 4.5 MB/s

between two other hosts in the same network it is
51200000 byte (51 MB) copiati, 0,428284 s, 120 MB/s

so the problem is that the network interface of the LNS1 is a fake gigabit

a.
mennucc
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 12:55 pm

Re: Lacie Network Space speed

Postby fvdw » Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:47 pm

the problem is the cpu and limited ram (only 16MB) of the nwsp1, that is =-the reason why it is not capable to use the gigabit bandwith
User avatar
fvdw
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 8472
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:30 pm
Location: Netherlands


Return to Lacie Network Space vs1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest