Static ip, do I need a ddns hostname for ftp server?

Post any question, feedback you have regarding the Philips SPD8020 in this forum

Static ip, do I need a ddns hostname for ftp server?

Postby tilt_from_arch » Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:18 pm

My internet provider gives me a static ip, so I'm wondering if nevertheless I need a ddns hostname to open Internet access to my ftp server (from my friends for example, or from my workplace).
Thanks in advance for any help, bye!

:)
User avatar
tilt_from_arch
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Static ip, do I need a ddns hostname for ftp server?

Postby Jocko » Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:29 pm

If you have a static IP, you do not need a ddns.

Note: if you enable https or ftpes, you need to use this IP as host name when you will create the certificate.
User avatar
Jocko
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 7170
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Orleans, France

Re: Static ip, do I need a ddns hostname for ftp server?

Postby tilt_from_arch » Sat Oct 29, 2016 9:15 pm

Very cool, I managed to configure my ftp server to be reachable from outside.
I was unable to create the right certificate because its name, that is, my fixed ip,
(set in the menu FTP Servers -> Setup -> FTPS/SFTP -> Enable connexion over TLS/SSL protocol -> edit certificate);
didn't match the server name
(set in the menu FTP Servers -> Setup -> Main Settings -> FTP Server Name).

Now thy are correctly aligned, the ftp works like a charm :)
Very happy about it, thank you again! :woohoo
User avatar
tilt_from_arch
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Italy


Return to Philips SPD8020

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest