All Shares Gone - Lacie 5Big Network 2

All Shares Gone - Lacie 5Big Network 2

Postby Patzag » Fri Nov 01, 2013 8:07 pm

Hi.
I'm a complete newb here so feel free to refer me to some other thread.
I've spent the better part of the last 48 hours searching the web for solutions to this problem:

All my Shares have disappeared. The box boots up but the shares are gone. I have nearly 7TB of valuable stuff on there. I'd say that 65-75% is backed up, the the remaining 30% or so was not yet and so I'm very concerned.

I've never used terminal beyond copying data off a drive and although I'm not dumb, I know nothing about SSH and other things that have been discussed here.

So ... Anyone can help me here? :please

Cheers,
Patrick
Patzag

Re: All Shares Gone - Lacie 5Big Network 2

Postby fvdw » Fri Nov 01, 2013 8:40 pm

was this 5big2 setup in a raid configuration ?
fvdw
Site Admin - expert

Postby Patzag » Fri Nov 01, 2013 8:45 pm

fvdw wrote:was this 5big2 setup in a raid configuration ?

Yes, RAID 5
Patzag

Postby fvdw » Fri Nov 01, 2013 8:49 pm

I am not a raid expert but one of our members is, maybe he pops in and can give support
For the meoment you can try if can get access to the 5big2 using our fvdw-sl console. It has a standalone kernel that runs from ram and starts a telnet client. With that you can do investigation of the raid array and maybe restore it.

The fvdw-sl console can be found in the download section
After installing it on your windows pc, choose the action load standalone kernel and follow the instructions
fvdw
Site Admin - expert

Postby Patzag » Fri Nov 01, 2013 9:07 pm

fvdw wrote:I am not a raid expert but one of our members is, maybe he pops in and can give support
For the meoment you can try if can get access to the 5big2 using our fvdw-sl console. It has a standalone kernel that runs from ram and starts a telnet client. With that you can do investigation of the raid array and maybe restore it.