Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby macdalor » Sat Sep 17, 2016 8:33 pm

fvdw wrote:Seems must be something like this (I am no raid expert, took this from the internet)
Code: Select all
mdadm --add /dev/md0 /dev/sda8
mdadm --grow --raid-devices=5 /dev/md0


doesn't seem to work either
Code: Select all
root@Lacie5Big:/ # umount /dev/md0
root@Lacie5Big:/ # mdadm --add /dev/md0 /dev/sda8
mdadm: Cannot open /dev/sda8: Device or resource busy
root@Lacie5Big:/ #
macdalor
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:12 pm

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby Jocko » Sat Sep 17, 2016 8:41 pm

maybe sda8 is still mounted
Jocko
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 11367
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Orleans, France

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby fvdw » Sun Sep 18, 2016 7:58 am

Jocko wrote:maybe sda8 is still mounted

Think you are right Jocko, this message displayed, device busy, is typical when you try to do something which needs an umounted device.
fvdw
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 13245
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:30 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby Jocko » Sun Sep 18, 2016 8:30 am

And maybe other things.

As you had restarted the NAS, do you kill again the processes like written on the howto?

To be able to manage the raid with sda8 and md0, you need to unmount them and stop some processes like noflushd...
Jocko
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 11367
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Orleans, France

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby macdalor » Sun Sep 18, 2016 10:02 am

tried a few things without results...
Code: Select all
root@Lacie5Big:/ # killall noflushd
root@Lacie5Big:/ # killall smbd
root@Lacie5Big:/ # umount /dev/md0
root@Lacie5Big:/ # mdadm --add /dev/md0 /dev/sda8
mdadm: Cannot open /dev/sda8: Device or resource busy
root@Lacie5Big:/ # mdadm -stop /dev/md0
mdadm: -s does not set the mode, and so cannot be the first option.
root@Lacie5Big:/ # killall noflushd
killall: noflushd: no process killed
root@Lacie5Big:/ # killall smbd
killall: smbd: no process killed
root@Lacie5Big:/ # Umount /dev/md0
-sh: Umount: not found
root@Lacie5Big:/ # mdadm -stop /dev/md0
mdadm: -s does not set the mode, and so cannot be the first option.
root@Lacie5Big:/ # mdadm --add /dev/md0 /dev/sda8
mdadm: Cannot open /dev/sda8: Device or resource busy


sda8 seems to always be busy...how can I kill this?

for info on RAID:
Code: Select all
root@Lacie5Big:/ # sudo mdadm --detail /dev/md0
/dev/md0:
        Version : 01.00.03
  Creation Time : Sat Sep 17 10:25:30 2016
     Raid Level : raid0
     Array Size : 3893898752 (3713.51 GiB 3987.35 GB)
   Raid Devices : 4
  Total Devices : 4
Preferred Minor : 0
    Persistence : Superblock is persistent

    Update Time : Sat Sep 17 10:25:30 2016
          State : clean
 Active Devices : 4
Working Devices : 4
 Failed Devices : 0
  Spare Devices : 0

     Chunk Size : 64K

           Name : 0
           UUID : 5668ffdd:e6ca22a8:84c3917d:a7a8e08e
         Events : 0

    Number   Major   Minor   RaidDevice State
       0       8       24        0      active sync   /dev/sdb8
       1       8        8        1      active sync   /dev/sdc8
       2       8       72        2      active sync   /dev/sdd8
       3       8       56        3      active sync   /dev/sde8
macdalor
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:12 pm

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby Jocko » Sun Sep 18, 2016 10:35 am

There are several errors.

First do you unmount sda8 (unmount md0 is not enough).

So before managing the raid check if both are really unmounted with the output of
Code: Select all
mount


In the howto there is a typo errors in the stop command line : a '-' is missing but you do not have to stop the raid to add a device !

So after killing all required processes and unmounting md0 and sda8, do :
Code: Select all
mdadm --add /dev/md0 /dev/sda8
mdadm --grow --raid-devices=5 /dev/md0
e2fsck -f /dev/md0
resize2fs /dev/md0
cat /etc/mdadm.0 > /etc/mdadm.conf
mdadm --detail --scan >> /etc/mdadm.conf
Jocko
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 11367
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Orleans, France

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby macdalor » Sun Sep 18, 2016 3:51 pm

still giving me an error
Code: Select all
root@Lacie5Big:/ # umount /dev/sda8
root@Lacie5Big:/ # mdadm --add /dev/md0 /dev/sda8
mdadm: add new device failed for /dev/sda8 as 4: Invalid argument
macdalor
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:12 pm

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby Jocko » Sun Sep 18, 2016 4:10 pm

Maybe the easy way is to rebuild fully your raid (if you do not have data on it)

So stop it
Code: Select all
mdadm --stop /dev/md0
erase all zero-superblock on sd[abcde]8
Code: Select all
mdadm --zero-superblock /dev/sda8
mdadm --zero-superblock /dev/sdb8
mdadm --zero-superblock /dev/sdc8
mdadm --zero-superblock /dev/sdd8
mdadm --zero-superblock /dev/sde8
create again the raid
Code: Select all
mdadm --create /dev/md0 --level=0 --raid-devices=5 /dev/sda8 /dev/sdb8 /dev/sdc8 /dev/sdd8 /dev/sde8
check if the raid has been created
Code: Select all
cat /proc/mdstat
save new conf
Code: Select all
cat /etc/mdadm.0 > /etc/mdadm.conf
mdadm --detail --scan >> /etc/mdadm.conf
format the raid partition
Code: Select all
mke2fs -t ext3 -j -m 1 /dev/md0

So if all is Ok reboot the NAS
Jocko
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 11367
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Orleans, France

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby macdalor » Sun Sep 18, 2016 5:35 pm

perfect! :applause I should have done that from the beginning instead of wasting your time guys...

It's showing 4641.89 GB for each disk but this must be a bug as the allocated space in the RAID is fine (4.89Tb)
Screen Shot 2016-09-18 at 19.31.37.png

Thank you so much once again guys!
:hail
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
macdalor
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:12 pm

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby Jocko » Sun Sep 18, 2016 5:49 pm

:thumbup

About size, there is no bug,53TB the data partition (sdx8) size is around 0.906TB so a raid0 size 4.53Tb is right
Jocko
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 11367
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Orleans, France

PreviousNext

Return to Lacie 5big Network vs2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests