Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby Jocko » Sat Sep 17, 2016 12:37 pm

:thumbup

Well why you did not include sda8 ? Do you have data on it ?

Then to include sda8 on md0, do
Code: Select all
mdadm --grow /dev/md0 --raid-devices=5 --add /dev/sda8

Note: I do not know if you can mix gpt partition table(sda8) with ms-dos partition tables in a raid0 but you must try.

After you need to increase you raid
Code: Select all
resize2fs /dev/md0

But I think you need first to unmount md0 so do first before including sda8
Code: Select all
umount /dev/md0


Of course before rebooting, you need to save the new raid configuration in mdadm.conf file as described in the howto
Jocko
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 11367
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Orleans, France

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby macdalor » Sat Sep 17, 2016 2:01 pm

running all commands fine but seems to be getting stuck on the last one
Code: Select all
root@Lacie5Big:/ # umount /dev/md0
Code: Select all
root@Lacie5Big:/ # mdadm --grow /dev/md0 --raid-devices=5 --add /dev/sda8
mdadm: --size, --raiddisks, and --add are exclusing in --grow mode
Code: Select all
root@Lacie5Big:/ # resize2fs /dev/md0
resize2fs 1.42.11 (09-Jul-2014)
Please run 'e2fsck -f /dev/md0' first.

Code: Select all
root@Lacie5Big:/ # e2fsck -f /dev/md0
e2fsck 1.42.11 (09-Jul-2014)
Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks, and sizes

it's been checking inodes for the last hour...
Is this a normal behaviour?
macdalor
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:12 pm

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby Jocko » Sat Sep 17, 2016 2:12 pm

Indeed with a 5TB partition size this may run for a long time with resize2fs.

So you need to bring the command in the background :
- open another ssh window
- search the pid value of the resize2fs command
Code: Select all
ps aux

- put in background
Code: Select all
kill -STOP pid
kill -CONT pid
(where pid is the pid value)

Then you will be able to close the first window without breaking the resize command
Jocko
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 11367
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Orleans, France

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby macdalor » Sat Sep 17, 2016 3:00 pm

ok, done all that, but it doesn't seem to have worked...surely for the GPT/ms-dos partitions difference...
Screen Shot 2016-09-17 at 16.57.23.png

Do I need to reinstall the FVDW firmware in dos partition?

edit: or maybe just the SDA8 in ms-dos?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
macdalor
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:12 pm

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby Jocko » Sat Sep 17, 2016 4:57 pm

Disks setup menu will be updated only after rebooting the nas but you have to do it only when resize2fs command will be ended.

To check if resize2fs is still running do
Code: Select all
ps aux
Jocko
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 11367
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Orleans, France

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby macdalor » Sat Sep 17, 2016 5:54 pm

Jocko wrote:Disks setup menu will be updated only after rebooting the nas but you have to do it only when resize2fs command will be ended.

To check if resize2fs is still running do
Code: Select all
ps aux

damm...restarted already! :lmao

ok...lets start again...I'll become an expert if I carry on like this... :geek:
macdalor
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:12 pm

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby macdalor » Sat Sep 17, 2016 7:36 pm

didn't work... :scratch
Code: Select all
root@Lacie5Big:/ # sudo mdadm --detail /dev/md0
/dev/md0:
        Version : 01.00.03
  Creation Time : Sat Sep 17 10:25:30 2016
     Raid Level : raid0
     Array Size : 3893898752 (3713.51 GiB 3987.35 GB)
   Raid Devices : 4
  Total Devices : 4
Preferred Minor : 0
    Persistence : Superblock is persistent

    Update Time : Sat Sep 17 10:25:30 2016
          State : clean
 Active Devices : 4
Working Devices : 4
 Failed Devices : 0
  Spare Devices : 0

     Chunk Size : 64K

           Name : 0
           UUID : 5668ffdd:e6ca22a8:84c3917d:a7a8e08e
         Events : 0

    Number   Major   Minor   RaidDevice State
       0       8       24        0      active sync   /dev/sdb8
       1       8        8        1      active sync   /dev/sdc8
       2       8       72        2      active sync   /dev/sdd8
       3       8       56        3      active sync   /dev/sde8
root@Lacie5Big:/ #
macdalor
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:12 pm

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby fvdw » Sat Sep 17, 2016 8:20 pm

Think the command you gave to add sda8 was not correct
root@Lacie5Big:/ # mdadm --grow /dev/md0 --raid-devices=5 --add /dev/sda8
mdadm: --size, --raiddisks, and --add are exclusing in --grow mode

Seems grow and add cannot be used in same command.
So sda8 was not added...
fvdw
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 13245
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:30 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby fvdw » Sat Sep 17, 2016 8:23 pm

Seems must be something like this (I am no raid expert, took this from the internet)
Code: Select all
mdadm --add /dev/md0 /dev/sda8
mdadm --grow --raid-devices=5 /dev/md0
fvdw
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 13245
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:30 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Please Help me with my 5Big Network 2

Postby Jocko » Sat Sep 17, 2016 8:33 pm

:pound
indeed it is the right commands
Jocko
Site Admin - expert
 
Posts: 11367
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Orleans, France

PreviousNext

Return to Lacie 5big Network vs2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests