i locked myself out, I guess

i locked myself out, I guess

Postby Outdoorwilder » Mon Jan 13, 2014 1:53 pm

Hi,

I think i did something stupid to my Nas. I updated to the last version (fvdw-sl 15.0) and everything was fine. Then I needed to transfer a lot of data, and because the network is so slow, I took out the HDD and copied the data directly. Later on I changed over ssh the rights and there I must have changed the rights of some firmware data ( I am fairly new to linux). I think I changed several files with chmod or chown (oups).
However, I can not connect over http to the NAS anymore. I get an "access forbidden" response. But I still am able to ssh to the NAS. So I could fix things if I knew which.

Can anybody tell me which file I have to change to acess the web-gui again? Or is it possible to reset the firmware over ssh rather than the web-gui? That would be perfect.

Let me know if you need more information, I am not sure what is relevant.

Thanks a lot

Christian
Outdoorwilder

Re: i locked myself out, I guess

Postby fvdw » Mon Jan 13, 2014 2:15 pm

you can install fvdw-sl-15-0 once again, that will restore the system files and permissions. Your personal data will be unchanged
fvdw
Site Admin - expert

Postby Outdoorwilder » Mon Jan 13, 2014 5:07 pm

Thanks, that sounds good. But is it possible to install over ssh? Because I cant access the gui.
Could you point me to a command ( sorry, that is probably a very basic question)

Thanks for your help ;)
Outdoorwilder

Postby Jocko » Mon Jan 13, 2014 5:22 pm

Hi Outdoorwilder,

Yes you can do it via the shell access and I wrote a small howtodo but you need the firmware image file and I am not yet at home to attach it.

So wait around 1 hour so that I can attach the image file.

Do you still have samba access ?
Jocko
Site Admin - expert

Postby Jocko » Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:28 pm

Luckily, you still have a shell access and you can do it manually.